Hotel Review: Crowne Plaza Paragon Xiamen

I spent 3 days in Xiamen which was a big mistake, as the typhoon hit Xiamen prior my arrival. I managed to take a train from Shenzhen to Xiamen, the train should have arrived Xiamen within few hours, but due to some reasons caused by typhoon, it took me more than 8 hours to arrive Xiamen.

 

During the train ride, I got an email from Double Tree Xiamen, which I previously booked. They informed me that the whole city was out of power, hot water and air conditioning. I was requested to NOT going to Xiamen at all. However, it was a little too late for that. Therefore, I have decided to change hotel and I believe Crowne Plaza saved my trip.

Hotel

IMG_2565

Hotel Lobby

IMG_2537IMG_2536

This hotel connects to a big shopping mall; there are many restaurants and shops in it which is good enough to kill few hours. I booked the basic guest room and received an upgrade to the executive room.

Executive Room

IMG_2517IMG_2516IMG_2521IMG_2518IMG_2519

View from Room

IMG_2555IMG_2553

The room is a bit dated but it is conveniently located at the city center. I was able to have breakfast and afternoon tea at the executive lounge. The food spread was really good in terms of the variety of food and drinks. Plus, there were not many people packed in the lounge which was a great way to relax after the chaotic day.

Executive Lounge

IMG_2552

Breakfast

IMG_2556IMG_2528IMG_2529IMG_2530IMG_2531IMG_2532IMG_2533IMG_2534

Afternoon Tea Spread

IMG_2545IMG_2546IMG_2544IMG_2547IMG_2548IMG_2535

So will I come back to Xiamen? No, there isn’t much going on in the city. I felt like I was in Shenzhen, why bother taking few hours train to a place where everything is the same as Shenzhen? And the typhoon situation actually made it worse.

I called an Uber to check out the city, which was nice with many shops/supermarkets.

IMG_2542IMG_2541

Leave a Reply

