Hotel Review: ANA Intercontinental Manza Beach Resort (Okinawa, Japan)

20140423-125650.jpg

Believe it or not, according to the IHG website, the hotel was fully booked during the Easter holiday. Therefore, I used my IHG Platinum card and called the IHG customer service directly for over-booking the hotel. I didn’t hear anything from them for few days, so I decided to call the resort in Japan. They eventually helped me to booked a Beach View Superior Room.

I arrived at the hotel in the evening (around 7pm). The resort is situated next to Manza Beach. When I was driving through their driveway to the hotel, I could see the magnificent night view of the hotel.

There is a valet parking service at the hotel, when my car stopped at the hotel entrance, a guy helped me to take the luggage and park my car. The front desk staff has already prepared the invoice for me to settle the bill when I stepped in the check in counter.

Hotel Sign

20140423-130601.jpg

As usual, I asked if I have any room upgrade. The staff said my room has been “upgraded” from Beach View Superior Room to Ocean View Superior Room. I told her that this was not an upgrade as both of the room rates are the same when I booked the room. She said YES! BUT you can pay to have an upgrade to the hotel corner suite by paying extra $20,000 yen. I was wondering if they are kidding. The original room rate for my room is $28,000 yen, I wouldn’t bother to pay extra money for a suite. Then, I asked if the executive room was available, they said I need to pay extra $12,000 yen for the upgrade. I said NO thanks! I took my key card and went back to my room.

Superior Room (Ocean View)

20140423-130006.jpg 20140423-130027.jpg

 

Bathroom

20140423-130440.jpg

20140423-130457.jpg

When I entered the room, I saw a fruit basket, a little box of cookie and a welcome card on the table.

Welcome Amenities

20140423-132148.jpg

I could not judge the view from my room at night, it was pitch black outside and I only saw the pool area was lighted up.

Pool Area

20140423-130420.jpg

 

Hotel at Night

20140423-130543.jpg 20140423-130514.jpg

I was given some $1,000 yen coupons, which could be used in the hotel restaurant when you spend more than $5,000 yen. I thought that it’s good way to use it for dinner. But I didn’t as the selection was very limited in Aqua Bella. Other restaurants were approaching their closing time, so I decided to dine out.

The view was amazing in the morning time! WoW! The ocean view is incredible and I am loving it. I went to few restaurants to check out their breakfast spread and I decided to have my breakfast in Aqua Bella. The spread was great, all the items were similar to ANA Crowne Plaza Harbourview.

Morning View from my Room

20140423-130618.jpg

Restaurant (Aqua Bella)

20140423-130639.jpg

Breakfast Spread

20140423-130659.jpg 20140423-130714.jpg 20140423-130727.jpg

Hotel in the Morning

20140423-130804.jpg

Afterwards, I went to the Manza Beach for half an hour. The facilities were free of charge for hotel guests. The beach was not crowded at all. The water is super clean, the sand doesn’t got too many surplus. Very beautiful!

I checked out in the morning, and I drove to other places for site seeing.

All in all, I wish the hotel could have been better with their room upgrade for the platinum member. The room rate was on the high side, it might be due to the Easter holiday. If you are not planning to visit the Manza Beach, you better not selecting this hotel. As it is really really far from the city center. To be honest, there are many beaches available in Okinawa. I will only stay here once, I might not be coming back again, as there are many beach hotels available.

Please go to my Facebook page and LIKE/SHARE it: https://www.facebook.com/thepointsaddiction

4 thoughts on “Hotel Review: ANA Intercontinental Manza Beach Resort (Okinawa, Japan)

Leave a Reply

