Hotel Review: Doubletree by Hilton Guangzhou

The hotel just opened for less than a month, I was so excited to go this new hotel before even I booked the hotel. I love their free cookies hand out in the check in counter.

Hotel Building

d20 d21

 

Well, I expected so much from this hotel, as I saw many beautiful photos on their hotel web site. But, all of the photos are generated by computer. When I entered the hotel, I was a bit shocked to see the layout and design in the lobby, which is completely different from what I saw on the web. Now that they have changed the hotel photos in their web site.

 

Check-in Counter

Lobby

 

Free Cookie

 

d23

 

When I was checking in, the general manager came out to greet me. We chatted for few minutes, and then the key cards were given to me. But they forgot the cookies!!! So I asked for it, and they gave it to me eventually. I was also informed that the executive lounge was closed! Damn it!

 

I originally booked a deluxe room and got upgrade to suite due to my HHonors gold member status and my parents’ celebration. You will later see what they have done to the hotel room.

 

They changed the bed sheet colour in red, a bottle of red wine and some chocolates. The suite is big enough for 3 people. It also comes with a Nespresso machine and few capsules.

 

Living Room

d2 d1

 

Bedroom

d3 d9 d22

 

Welcome Amenities

d5

 

I forgot to take the photos in toilet. All of the bath amenities are from Crabtree & Evelyn.

 

I had my afternoon tea in the lobby lounge, the food was bad. The drinks were all right, nothing really special! It doesn’t worth the money if you were looking for the experience from the executive lounge. I believe they have already opened their executive lounge by the time I am writing this blog post.

 

Free Afternoon Tea Set

d8

 

Cake Shop

d6

d7

 

I went to the restaurant to have my breakfast in the morning. The breakfast spread is extensive, but the dishes seldom get refilled. The quality of food is all right, but not the best in the Guangzhou area.

 

Restaurant

d10

d14

 

Breakfast Spread

 

d13 d12 d11

 

Although the executive lounge hasn’t open yet, I still made my way to take a look at it. The deco is stylish and the view is really good.

 

d19 d15 d16 d17 d18

 

In general, I don’t think this hotel is up to a 5-star hotel standard. I like the room, but a lot of things were not ready yet. Hopefully, it will get better.

 

 

Leave a Reply

